Tuesday 9 August 2011

Seekers Fire in the Sky

Seekers Fire in the Sky by Erin Hunter (Hardie Grant Egmont)
PB RRP $19.95
ISBN 978-1-4052-5462-5
Reviewed by Lillian Rodrigues-Pang
This is book five of the Seekers series – an unusual adventure tale that takes us into the minds of four bears. The main characters include a brown, a black, and a white bear although they are accompanied by a brown bear that is a shape shifter. He is related to the legends of old, he has visions, special talents and serves as their guide, their mission is to save the wild.

Erin Hunter does a beautiful job of weaving the landscape in as a distinct and strong character. The descriptions range from the tantalising – dancing firelights in the sky at night, to the horrifying - oil drilling machines and animals that have been affected by them. Erin Hunter is the author of the Warriors series that has sold 5 million copies and spent 63 weeks on the New York Times Best selling list.

The story is set on ‘the great ice’ where the younger white bear has to take a leadership role. The story takes the brown and black bears onto the unfamiliar landscape of the ice. They need to learn to trust in another bears knowledge and give in to another’s ability to lead. The white bear, Kallik also embarks on a journey of learning to trust herself. It is a story that includes slow thoughtful moments and page turning action.

It is aimed at 9 year old plus. The writing style is thoughtful and descriptive. It is equally attractive to girls and boy readers and deals with issues of the natural environment and human impact, all very relevant to the modern young reader and learner.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Buzz Words Books would love to hear what you think.