Wednesday 19 April 2017

The Seven Signs, Book 1: Skyfire

 The Seven Signs, Book 1: Skyfire by Michael Adams (Scholastic Australia) PB RRP $7.99   ISBN 978-1-74362-801-0

Reviewed by Jenny Heslop

The Seven Signs is a new explosive and action packed series for middle grade readers by Australian author Michael Adams. Skyfire kicks the series off with the seven winners of the mysterious DARE competition all meeting for the first time and receiving amazing prizes. But this group of 15 year old geniuses are about to discover that there is something sinister lurking beneath the glitter, wealth and prestige of the award. That something will not only put their own lives in peril, but also the lives of those close to them. Will their combined intelligence be enough to solve the cryptic ‘signs’ being texted to them? And is there a connection between these signs and the shocking public attacks which are throwing whole countries into chaos?

By combining thrilling adventures, edge-of-your-seat action, exotic locations and unshakable friendship bonds, this series promises to deliver the same satisfying ‘teens save the world’ experience as The Last Thirteen series. The seven central characters are all likeable, not perfect and quirky enough to be interesting. Once you suspend your disbelief enough to allow for the post apocalyptic world which includes Space Skimmer ultra fast-jets, driverless taxis and other futuristic advances, it is not a big leap to fifteen year-olds who can save the world. And within this context, they do act in a believable way.

Jumping from character to character and location to location, keeps the action tight and constant. This is a book to speed-read cover to cover, with cliff hangers making it hard to put down. Skyfire is a thrilling read, perfect for adrenaline junkies and lovers of mystery, good versus evil plots and epic races to save the world.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Buzz Words Books would love to hear what you think.